Encourage the Encourager

encourage the encourager

I try to encourage people. That is one of my giftings. I love to talk to people and find out about them and I just encourage them. But sometimes I need encouragement. This weekend, I was blessed with 2 powerful prayers from 2 great friends. Both prayers were definitely Holy Spirit led because I didn’t tell these two young ladies some things I have been struggling with. They sent me text/emails of their prayers and I have re read them several times, standing in agreement and receiving what they prayed over me. Sometimes we don’t think that our words matter or prayers make a difference. But let me tell you, there is power in the tongue. The Bible says, that there is LIFE and DEATH in the power of the tongue. We need to be more diligent about declaring wellness, prosperity and love to people. Also one of my new friends, encourages me by the way she lives her life. Actions definitely speak louder than words. And one Facebook post from a former youth, that truly blessed my whole day. (I was a youth minister, I guess once a youth minister, always a youth minister.) And sometimes I think, what difference did I truly make in the 5 years of being in that role? Was it waste? The Holy Spirit basically screamed to me, nothing He does is ever wasted. I may not see the fruit of my labor, but I planted A LOT of seeds. This young lady posted on a well known Christian artists page, that Stephen and I were the most influential people in her life growing up. What, me? I give all the glory to God for the work He did in her life but also in my life. Thank you Ashley for truly blessing my day! I am so proud of you and the changes in your life. Praising God for you!

One of my favorite Bible characters is Barnabas. We read about him in the book of Acts.He was an encourager. His name is literally translated to mean “Son of Encouragement.”

“Joseph, a Levite from Cyprus, whom the apostles called Barnabas (which means “son of encouragement”),  sold a field he owned and brought the money and put it at the apostles’ feet.”– Acts 4:36-37.

He not only was a encouragement by words, but he sold his field and brought it to the apostles’s feet! He wasn’t all “talk,” he was a man of action. Preachers aren’t the only ones that preach. We preach in our service to others. Servants serve all the time, not just in the good times.

Then in Acts 11:22-24, “News of this reached the church in Jerusalem, and they sent Barnabas to Antioch. When he arrived and saw what the grace of God had done, he was glad and encouraged them all to remain true to the Lord with all their hearts. He was a good man, full of the Holy Spirit and faith, and a great number of people were brought to the Lord.”

He continued to encourage and was described as “a good man, full of the Holy Spirit and of faith.” I love where it says, “a great number of people were brought to the Lord.” What a great example of Biblical encouragement! We can and should be bringing people to God with encouragement and loving on people.

Don’t underestimate your power of encouragement and serving others. Life is hard and we can get beaten down but we can help out by lifting each other up.

What are some things people have done that were encouraging to you? How can you be an encouragement to someone else today?

One thought on “Encourage the Encourager

  1. Xochil, once again you have let the light of YOUR encouragement shine through your words. I believe the gift of encouragement is perhaps one of the most important gifts. By encouraging words, you can lift others from their darkness into the light. Thank you for your words. I love you.

Leave a Reply

