A good man…that’s my dad!

IMG_0992

Oh how I treasure this picture! This summer Jude went to many Vacation Bible Schools and loved each one. Each one was a different theme, but with the same message…Jesus loves me and wants to have a relationship with me.

This picture was taken on July 28, 2016. 4 days after Jude turned 8 years old. We wanted a baby for years. It wasn’t an immediate thing. We tried and tried for several years and after many doctors visits, we finally left it in God’s Hands. His timing is perfect (as always) and our little Jude was born. He was, and still is a gift from God. After looking at Jude for the first time, I prayed to God that he would be healthy and that he would receive Jesus in His heart at a very early age. We have always taken Jude to church and talked to him about Jesus but we wanted him to profess it for himself.

This picture is so special to me because my parents are praying with him to ask Jesus into his heart. No greater gift…My dad is praying and Jude is sitting on my mom’s lap. Soon and very soon, he won’t be able to do that (he sometimes forgets how big he is getting) It was so cute, because there was other prayer warriors that Jude could’ve prayed with, but he waited patiently to pray with his Welo and Wela. The most important decision in his life and he got to do it with his dear grandparents.

If you know my mom, you know that she is a praying woman. She loves her family and she is constantly praying for them. My dad is a such a great role model for Jude. Jude really enjoys his time with “Welo” and is always asking to go with him. My parents are beacons of light in my life. This picture reminds me of the verse, “A good man leaves an inheritance to his children’s children” -Proverbs 13:22

 My parents didn’t have it easy growing up. Both are the eldest of 13+ children and migrant farm workers, but that didn’t stop them from getting and education and raising me and my brothers in the way of the Lord.
See the verse says, “A good man leaves an inheritance to his children’s children” Right away we think about money, but I see so much more. I see a spiritual inheritance that a “good man” leaves his grandchildren. A spiritual inheritance is worth more than all the money in the world. My dad is the patriarch of our family. We all love and respect him. He still does so much for us all. But more importantly, because of the way he brought us up, he is leaving a spiritual inheritance that will go on for future generations. I see him daily make sacrifices for people that are in need. Everything he does, he does because he loves Jesus. He is a “good man.”
I thank You God for answering my prayer for Jude to come to know You as his personal Savior. I know his life won’t always be easy, but I praise You Father, that You will never leave him.
Leave a Reply

